Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-15-2018, 03:21 PM   #1
Ed Geis
New User

Default $300 million deal with Netflix

Just saw in the NYTimes that producer Ryan Murphy just signed a 5-year deal with Netflix for $300 million. I had no idea the streaming services were spending that kind of money. Kind of hard to wrap your head around it.

I'm a new screenplay writer just getting into the business. Curious how this changing landscape is affecting the market for good writing or how writers should be marketing their wares.
Ed Geis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 10:07 AM   #2
EdFury

Default Re: $300 million deal with Netflix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Geis View Post
Just saw in the NYTimes that producer Ryan Murphy just signed a 5-year deal with Netflix for $300 million. I had no idea the streaming services were spending that kind of money. Kind of hard to wrap your head around it.

I'm a new screenplay writer just getting into the business. Curious how this changing landscape is affecting the market for good writing or how writers should be marketing their wares.
Ryan Murphy was once where you are. He worked his ass off to get where he is now. Good for him.

As for streaming services? They are now what the studios were 30 years ago. Since the studios have basically stopped buying specs or innovating, that vacuum is filled with these streaming services. It doesn't change how you market your scripts at all. It does change the kinds of scripts you need to write. The era of the big budget spec script for new writers is over. You want to get noticed? For films, innovative low budget. Emphasis on story. Films that think out of the formula and story structure box. Films that stop saving the cat.