Got dropped by agent - very weird behavior (LONG)

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got dropped by agent - very weird behavior (LONG)

So I was recently dropped by my agent and it was at the end of a long period of bizarre and conflicting behavior.

I'd love some feedback on this if anyone has some insight.

So here goes:

I'm a TV writer with an extensive career in the graphic novel world. I've won major awards, been nominated for major awards, have a lot of press on big graphic novel series I'm working on today. I'm talking big franchise titles.

So I got staffed on a well-regarded show last year that got cancelled but that's how things go. Then I was ready to head into network staffing season.

I signed with one of the big agencies and they gave me the same old spiel about being there for me for the "long haul" and how we're going to work together to make money and blah, blah, blah.

So, I got a ton of meetings with executives early in the staffing cycle all over town based on two of my pilot samples that were floating around. Most of the meetings went well, some were duds, but most were pretty strong and I had a good feeling about it.

Then we get to staffing season.

My agent kept telling me that things were "okay" and I'm still being submitted on a bunch of shows. Now, the thing is this - I don't know a lot of showrunners or higher level EPs, but I do know a lot of folks on the story editor and staff writer levels.

I knew for a fact many of the shows that I was supposedly still being considered for were already fully staffed or specifically looking for women writers.

So when I brought up the fact that the shows they said I was being submitted for were staffed, my agent's attitude shifted into a new place where they said that my samples weren't strong enough to get me to the showrunner meetings and that no one cared about my graphic novel background.