X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Writers room as a feature writer

Hey kids

I'm a feature writer.

I like TV but I've never written for it.

I was approached by my manager to consider writing for a high-level writers room for two months.

This comes at a point in my career where my future film work might takeoff due to a script I recently completed and which has a big director attached.

I am curious about the pros and cons of working in a writers room. Is it the equivalent of working in an office environment? Is it seen as a step down from solo feature writing?

I have been very judicious about what projects I take on and I am just worried that it might steal some of my individuality away. Not sure if that makes any sense? Almost like the equivalent of acting in CSI rather than movies
    Last edited by Done Deal Pro; 10-17-2020, 04:43 PM. Reason: Added tags

Re: Writers room as a feature writer

If this gig is paying and it's a show we've heard of in any way that's actually on TV -- sounds like a great stepping stone to more. 2 months -- not 1 thing is going happen to your feature script probably and even if it does it won't be urgent where TV is going to get in the way.

What a great problem to have.

Comment

Thanks Bono
      What do you mean nothing is going to happen in two months to my feature?
      Do you mean... because of the WGA/ATA situation?

Originally posted by Bono View Post
      If this gig is paying and it's a show we've heard of in
      any way that's actually on TV -- sounds like a great stepping stone to more. 2 months -- not 1 thing is going happen to your feature script probably and even if it does it won't be urgent where TV is going to get in the way.

What a great problem to have.

Comment

Originally posted by TravisPickle View Post
        Thanks Bono
        What do you mean nothing is going to happen in two months to my feature?
        Do you mean... because of the WGA/ATA situation?