No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prospective manager wants to send script to director

Hey Guys,

Got a question for you all. I started the query process for the first time about 6 weeks ago. Got a couple read requests. One manager got back to me today, said he liked the script, and wants to send it to a director friend of his. Now he's not offering representation or anything, he just wants to pass it along to someone he thinks might be interested.

Is this weird/typical/good?

I don't see any problem with it, but hey I'm basically a newbie. Would I be risking anything allowing him to send it along?

Thanks all.

Re: prospective manager wants to send script to director

Getting a director to read your script is ultimately what you want. Well, ONE of things you want.

This manager has basically hip-pocketed you in this instance. If the director doesn't like your script, it's been no real effort on the manager's part. If the director should spark to it, then that's awesome and the manager will make moves accordingly. Even better, it's still been no real effort on the manger's part.

Comment

Yeah, that's a good thing. Let him send it and see what happens.

Comment

Keep querying. You could even use this new turn of events in a query.

On the negative side of things, who is this director? Is it someone will no/low creds? Do they have any pull with a studio (if your spec is a studio friendly script). Is this dir or even manager even that big a fish?

EJ

Comment

EJ's questions are important - but not right now. At this stage, you want your script in the hands of everyone and anyone. Low level managers, commercial directors, assistants of assistants - you never know what's going to help. If they like it and want to get involved, then it's time to start getting strategic. Right now, scorch the earth.

And yeah, keep on querying.
          Last edited by dmizzo; 09-21-2009, 05:42 PM. Reason: Typo

Comment