Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Business Questions and Advice
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-19-2016, 01:48 PM   #1
LiteBrightWrite
New User

Default Writing on Spec Question

I've been approached by a well known producer to write a script on spec.

I know what the spec process is and while I don't like the idea of writing for free until the producer can find funding and sell the script to a studio before I get paid, I understand that's just how things work. I have a question: Should there be some sort of written agreement in place?

Again, while I am new to screenwriting and I am getting great responses from many industry execs for my work. However, my biggest fault is that I am not familiar with what I need to do to protect myself in this process. I do have management but I'm not entirely sure his allegiance is to me or the producer.

Any suggestions?
LiteBrightWrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 01:57 PM   #2
Levenger

Default Re: Writing on Spec Question

If you're not sure of where your manager's loyalty lies get a new manager.

And yeah, it happens. I've worked for producers for free and not **** came of it but wasted time and a spec I can't really take elsewhere. Do it if you think it's worth the opportunity, but for my money I'd rather write my own idea and have more latitude to take it elsewhere.
Levenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 02:46 PM   #3
docgonzo

I did this once a few years ago and it went absolutely nowhere. I'll never do it again.
docgonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 03:09 PM   #4
ClintW3
Regular

Samuel Johnson once wrote: "No man but a blockhead ever wrote, except for money."

He is considered pretty smart.
ClintW3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 03:12 PM   #5
JoeBanks