Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Business Questions and Advice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-17-2007, 02:58 PM   #1
lvstndup
New User

Default HELP on options

I just received an offer for an option on the feature length script I wrote. I'm having my lawyer look at the legal aspects but the money seems low ($400.00 for option, $4000.00 for script, $20K if it gets made into a film). I know I'm a new writer and this is a smaller prod co who but should I just assume this is a first offer and ask for more money? Should I reject entirely? Should I jump at the chance because this may be my shot at the brass ring? HELPPPPPPPP
lvstndup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 03:12 PM   #2
Bellabell

Default Re: HELP on options

What is the budget of the film?
Old 04-17-2007, 03:19 PM   #3
lvstndup
New User

I don't know what his estimated budget is, he said this is their standard low budget option agreement. It's my baby of course so I think it could be a major film but the short only cost me $1800.00 to shoot.
lvstndup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 04:06 PM   #4
BROUGHCUT

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvstndup View Post
$400.00 for option, $4000.00 for script, $20K if it gets made into a film).
they only have to pay you $4400.00

What's stopping them from declining to pay the $20K? You would have to sue for breach of contract, which is nowhere near as open and shut as copyright infringement.

With an option, the producers can do everything short of going before the cameras -- they can develop the script, package the movie and secure distribution (technically -- in practice, may not be so simple? Someone may have better input.).