X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is an old Nicholl script still good?

Hey DDP,
    I'm a newbie here.
    My script was a 2011 Nicholl Semifinalist. It was my first script, and I was still in school at the time, so I wasn't ready to actively pursue a career at the time. I got a few requests from managers and producers at the time, sent the script to the ones I thought were worth contacting, didn't hear back form any, and didn't follow up (Again, a complete novice to the industry, I didn't know I was supposed to follow up) so I don't even know if those assistants or readers even read it.

Anyway, I revised it and re-submitted this year, but didn't make it past the first round (apparently, I don't revise properly).
    So, now I'm out of school, ready to really start a career, and hoped that this year's Nicholl would get me more requests and generate the opportunities that I need.....No such luck.

So, my question is: What do I do with a year old Nicholl script? If I send it out now calling it a 2011 Semifinalist, I feel like it will be obvious to most reps that I reentered this year and didn't get very far. Also, they're all more concerned with the current quarter/semi list. Can I send an email to those Management companies that requested it last year to see if they want to take a second look at the script, (I noticed that some have new assistants)? If so, how do I approach the ones like Energy Entertainment that say "no unsolicited queries"?
    Any help would be great!
    Thanks

Re: Is old Nicholl still good?

I just wouldn't specify the year. They're mostly interested in the logline, and the additional line that it was a Nicholl semi-finalist might be enough to add that extra bump if they're undecided -- but it's really almost completely dependent on your logline.

Comment

Originally posted by zooey View Post