Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Futility of Pursuing an Agent

A terrible lead. But an important point to make.

I haven't posted on the board recently, but I am a Top 5 repped writer that has worked for studios for seven years. Production just wrapped on my first "real" (read: 20mil+ budget) film, helmed by an Academy Award nominated director.

I have many friends and even more acquaintances who want careers as screenwriters. The passion for that result is something I am intimately familiar with. My 20's were consumed by it. The first question out of my mouth during my pre-professional years was: "how do I get an agent?"

The logic being:

A. My work is excellent.
    B. The only obstacle between me and a career is the dissemination of my work to an audience of buyers.
    C. The only way to expose my work in a viable way to those buyers is through an agent.
    D. The most imporant thing for my career is to get an agent.

Unfortunately, that logic is fatally flawed and always has been for the following reasons. And let's presume for a moment that we're talking about Top 5 agencies, the place where the real business is done and the real money is made.