Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Loading

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > General > Classes, Contests, Conferences, Festivals, Groups, Panels & Seminars
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2006, 09:26 PM   #1
writer0825
Member
 
writer0825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 860
Default New Contest

Well, I've never heard of it anyway. Did anyone else get an email from these people and their contest? Thoughts? Thanks!

http://www.studioreaders.com/
__________________
"The two hardest words to write are FADE IN. The two most gratifying are FADE OUT."
writer0825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 01:20 AM   #2
Hamletta
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Default Re: New Contest

Do I read it correctly that the deadline is 31 Dec, and they want to announce winners on Jan. 22? How many scripts do they expect -- 10?
Hamletta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 10:31 AM   #3
scriptwriterNYC
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 408
Default Re: New Contest

I'm suspicious, since there's absolutely no information about who the folks are who run this contest. Anybody could start a website and claim to be "studio readers," make themselves sound extremely selective, and then start a contest. With most other contests and script coverage services, you get at least a hint of wtf is running the show, at least SOME credentials! Not in this case....no list of which "studios" they claim to read for, or what their past experience/background is.

I would never send one of my scripts to such anonymous recipients who apparently don't want to disclose sh!t about themselves, for a contest or any other services....yet they deem it's perfectly fine to ask for your money! Based on what???

And I don't understand writers who will send their work off to just anybody who sets-up a website, without knowing diddledysquat about them!

Last edited by scriptwriterNYC : 10-12-2006 at 10:41 AM.
scriptwriterNYC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 11:44 AM   #4
cyberian exile
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The valley of the shadow of Los Angeles
Posts: 188
Default Re: New Contest

A quick "Whois" search reveals them to be based out of Bellevue, Washington. An area that's really hopping with "studio readers."

Everything about them smells off. I wouldn't be surprised if they're related to one of those famous scams such as The Screenplay Agency, and have decided to branch out into contests.

Last edited by cyberian exile : 10-12-2006 at 11:56 AM.
cyberian exile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 12:42 PM   #5
writer0825
Member
 
writer0825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 860
Default Re: New Contest

Yeah, I totally agree with all of you. It seemed suspicious to me too that's why I was asking everyone elses thoughts and was curious if anyone else had gotten an email from these people. I too was curious how they got my email? Ok, in this day and age, maybe not such a miracle, just made me wonder. I'm wondering if they were somehow involved in something I DID actually enter and have branched out from that organization on their own? Oh well, soon as I saw their site, it felt like a "pass" to me.
__________________
"The two hardest words to write are FADE IN. The two most gratifying are FADE OUT."
writer0825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 12:49 PM   #6
scriptwriterNYC
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 408
Default Re: New Contest

Quote:
Originally Posted by writer0825 View Post
I too was curious how they got my email? Ok, in this day and age, maybe not such a miracle, just made me wonder.
I wonder if your email is listed on the site of that prestigious contest that you DID place highly in, and that's how they found it? Or they requested your contact info from that contest's organizers, pretending to be somebody they aren't? I wouldn't put it past such scammers. Because I highly doubt these people are offshoots of any legit competition.
scriptwriterNYC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 12:56 PM   #7
ylekot43
Member
 
ylekot43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: New Contest

The sad pat is that even only ten people fall for it, the scam generates 500 dollars in revenue.
__________________
"Take the thing you love, and make it your life"--Californication.
ylekot43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 01:07 PM   #8
Jakkal
Member
 
Jakkal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: in my writercave.
Posts: 681
Default Re: New Contest

Well, considering the websites for "The Screenplay Agency" and "Studio Readers" have exactly the same layout....

http://www.thescreenplayagency.com/

http://www.studioreaders.com/

Yeah, I'd steer clear of them...
Jakkal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 01:14 PM   #9
writer0825
Member
 
writer0825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 860
Default Re: New Contest

Anyone ever dealt with anyone named Blake Allen or Sara Wells? Those are the people under the "contact" section of "studio readers."
__________________
"The two hardest words to write are FADE IN. The two most gratifying are FADE OUT."
writer0825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 01:20 PM   #10
scriptwriterNYC
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 408
Default Re: New Contest

"Blake Allen"

The dude probably thought that was Hollywood-sounding. Not!!!
scriptwriterNYC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Done Deal Pro

eXTReMe Tracker