How to become a Manager for screenwriters?

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to become a Manager for screenwriters?

Hello Community,

This is my first post and it's ambitious but I come with humility, respect and candor.

I am an independent film producer. I have two films in distribution, two in negotiations and one in post. One of the features won the prestigious Platinum Award at Houston World Fest and its on the film festival circuit. Mind you that these films are in the $100k to $250k budget ranges. The distribution deals and negociations are the result of taking three of our films to AFM last year. The next feature film we are working on will be in the $500k budget with notable actors.

As with all things I want to continue evolving not only as a producer but as a cultivator of great screenwriters! Currently, I have access to six phenomenal scripts in diverse genres by three talented screenwriters. In order for these films to be properly produced they need to be in the $5.5 million to $25 million budget range.

I tend to be drawn to material similar to the screenplays like; The Rover, Drive, Fargo, Memento, True Detective, Homeland, Three Colors: RED, Lone Star and Mulholland Drive.

Now I'm not to familiar with the business and legal structure of being a professional screenwriter manager other that what I have research and spoken to a few colleagues about.

So I have a few questions?

1. In order to be a talent agent or agency you have to be licensed. Is this the same for managers?

2. What is your definition of an ideal manager? Besides getting you in contact with an agent, helping you negotiate the best contract, expose you to independent production companies, what else would you need from your manager?

3. What would be the perfect balance in a contract between you and your manager? 10% is standard but what about the expectations, timeline to see productivity, etc.