Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-02-2017, 12:43 PM   #1
Earl S. Court
User

Default Couple of questions on querying production companies

So when I'm querying a manager I say that I'm a writer looking for representation. If I'm querying someone at a production company do I just say that I have a script I think they'll like / is a good fit for them and I'd love for them to read it?

Also, when people have lawyers send scripts to companies on their behalf - is that completely unsolicited? There doesn't have to be any prior contact between the writer and the company, the writer just pays the lawyer to send the script? I understand this is an expensive option and I'd only use it for a handful of companies at most.
Earl S. Court is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 01:06 PM   #2
AnconRanger

Default Re: Couple of questions on querying production companies

i don't know anything.

but it may help to focus on your story in the query, and don't worry about a lot of other stuff. want to put enough out there to gain interest, but not give away the farm. the below may be way too much, actually. but off the top of my head and this is not good-

Dear big shot movie person,

"I see dead people."

Title: THE SIXTH SENSE

When a psychiatrist struggles to help and heal a boy who believes he sees dead people, the boy ends up helping to heal him so he can move on...he finally realizes that he is actually, dead.

(perhaps a brief sentence or two about you, what you've published or whatever, you are actually a psychiatrist, etc...or just leave this part blank if isn't going to help pitch your story.)

I'd like to send for your consideration.

Thanks.

Best wishes,
your name

your contact info
AnconRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 01:40 PM   #3