Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are You a Comedy Writer or a Drama Writer

Here is a youtube video by Michael Jamin, it's less than two minutes long. Are You a Comedy Writer or a Drama Writer.

The thing here is do you THINK like a comedy writer or do you THINK like a drama writer?

I realize there are writers like Scott Frank who can write both, he even writes sci-fi thrillers. Or Craig Mazin who writes both.

For instance, Bono, to me, thinks all the time like a comedian. Maybe he can pull a sci-fi thriller out of his butt, who the fuck knows. Maybe he does.

I like comedy, but I don't know if I think like a comedy writer all the time.
    Last edited by Mark Somers; 02-07-2024, 10:20 AM.

I'm keenly aware that I'm a frustrated comedy writer working in every other genre, save comedy.

Comment

I just remembered. Jeff Lowell wrote a short thriller years ago on Popcorn Fiction.

Comment

Originally posted by Satriales View Post
        I'm keenly aware that I'm a frustrated comedy writer working in every other genre, save comedy.
        Yea but you're really good at what you already write.

Jamin also points out and William Martell too, that specializing is very much a plus in Hollywood.

Comment

Originally posted by Mark Somers View Post

Yea but you're really good at what you already write.

Jamin also points out and William Martell too, that specializing is very much a plus in Hollywood.
          That's very nice of you to say, but I just think it goes to the old "musicians want to be athletes and athletes want to be musicians" thing. I want the thing that I can't do.

I think I understand the reasoning behind it. It's definitely my favorite genre. I tried writing it when I was just out of college and I sucked. (but I would have sucked at anything) I enjoy working collaboratively so the idea of a comedy room is super appealing to me.​