That time has finally come: COMEDY SCRIPT WRITING?

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• That time has finally come: COMEDY SCRIPT WRITING?

I know this is a different genre with considerable discrepancies in narrative from some of the other genres.

I'm a child teach me--teach me.

I'm aware of the talk of about Comedy possibly undergoing some APATOW esque changes, what do I need to know about this? Is this a theory or guess, or are comedy scripts looking a lot different than usual? Dialogue heavy comedy is what all of this is concerning right?

I'm a child teach me--teach me.

I've written 10 short scripts the past year, and done comic work and some short story work, so this will be my first feature in a long-long time(~2 years). I had to improve in a number of areas before tackling features again, and I've done that...I am ready for laughs!!!

I'm by no means a beginner, so save the green-green amateur pointer drama for your momma! If you write Comedy regularly, I'd love to hear what you stay away from, and what's hot in the genre right now? Is Hansel still hot right now?

Also, name some of the really crucial script examples I can lay my eyes on. Big fan of KNOCKED UP & SUPERBAD...any other recent(2006-Current) I need to note?
    sigpic

Re: That time has finally come: COMEDY SCRIPT WRITING?

I'm no comedy expert by any means...

But I've noticed the big shift in comedy has been away from screw-ball, slapschtick (Vaudville style) to more subdued, (sketch-based) dialog driven comedy like Apatow delivers.

This presents an interesting and unpredictable comedy landscape right now because if audiences get sick of Apatow, sketch comedy they are going to want to some slapschtick to balance it out.