Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need a bit of advice...

Last week I attended a screening of Director/Writer Ann Wheeler's 'Bye Bye Blues' (which was very good I might add) at the Calgary International Film Festival. After the film I met Ann who gave me some advice with writing. She had given me her card
    (I think for me to send her a script to help me with development/critique it)
    My question is: should I e-mail her asking if I should send her the script?

Yes!!! Of course, you should contact her, whether by voice, e-mail, or Pony Express. She's given you an opening. If she was just being nice and didn't mean it, then you'll figure that out pretty quick. Otherwise, you might have found the brass ring that you've been searching for.

Good luck!

Comment

Toddin - thanks, I'm new to this biz and just want to make sure I don't step on toes.

Comment

Don't write or call, just send the script with a note "Lovely to talk to you in Edmonton, oh, BTW, here's that script we discussed. Thank you for offering to critique it for me." Include a SASE.

If you write and ask if you can send it, it gives her a way out on something she may have said in passing or under the influence. If you just send it, she would have to consiously renege--ie, shaft you.

Just make sure it's your best effort.

Comment

Honey, this business isn't about stepping on toes, it's about sucking on 'em. (Sorry, couldn't resist)

The point is, there is nothing wrong with following up, being polite and nice (and if needbe persistent). If someone offers to help you, accept their gracious offer.

Personally I would probably call just to keep the contact going, make sure she remembers you and to see if this is a good time for her to read the script. You want to get it to her when she acutally has time to read it so that it doesn't get stuck in a pile somewhere.