Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Screenplay Length

I'm a writer seeking feedback and professional opinions on feature screenplay length. I know that the "Standard Length" for a feature script is supposedly 90 - 130 pages. I have a character drama script that's 127 pages -- after several rewrites to shorten it among other things.

My question is this: Is 120 pages or shorter considered the "ideal" still, or if it's good, do 7 more pages matter? The input I've gotten so far is that as long as it's not over 130, don't sweat it.

I know it's easy to get caught up in the mechanics and "small stuff" when you're thinking about the marketplace, and I don't want to do this, or cut scenes that shouldn't be cut or shortened. Any Pro's or those with experience that can offer an educated opinion would be appreciated. Thanks.

Tony McIntosh

First, there's Courier New and Courier.

Courier New 120 pages = Courier 105
    Courier New 130 pages = Courier 114
    Courier New 90 pages = Courier 78

I think that the industry standard is Courier (90 to 120). If it is comedy, you try to stay closer to 90, if drama, latter.

If you have them hooked on the first 25 pages or so, they won't care if you wrote 127 pages. However, if your intro sucks, they will find 90 pages a chore.

But I usually shoot for 105 to 115 pages on my scripts.

Comment

Pages

BP is right on, especially about hooking the reader.

The first 25 pages are important, but the first one or two are critical. You've got about that long to convince the reader she's in good hands -- easy to read, easy to understand, properly formatted, with great word selection, clever dialogue, perfect spelling and grammar.

Nick

Comment

Screenplay Length

Tony, generally professional people in the business like to receive screenplays thatâ€TMs fewer than 120 pages. Especially from an aspiring writer, otherwise at first glance theyâ€TMll think youâ€TMve overwritten.