COMPLETE SENTENCES or INCOMPLETE????HELP!!!

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• COMPLETE SENTENCES or INCOMPLETE????HELP!!!

Let's say I had this the following scenerio in a script, which way would be more appropriate?

She turns on the faucet. She leans down. She splashes water over her face, slowly comes back up.

somthing like ^^^that or this:

She turns on the faucet. Leans down. Splashes water over her face, slowly comes back up.

These are examples, but I need real solutions, can someone please deliver their expertise? Thank you...

hell, i'm no expert, but the second's better. those 'she's' get distracting.

Comment

Complete or incomplete?

Sometimes I use terse, punchy phrases that aren't complete sentences to create immediacy:

She listens. Footsteps. Heavy breathing... gaining on her.

However, someone splashing water on her face and coming up slowly is more likely having a dramatic pause as she takes in devastating information. You don't need all that terseness. By using commas instead of periods, you have a grammatical sentence that better reflects the mood you want:

She turns on the faucet, leans down, splashes water on her face, slowly comes back up.

Comment

AnGilo,

I generally replace 'ands' with commas. Sometimes, I use long run-on sentences or short incomplete sentences to convey action - just depends on which is more appropriate.

LIVING ROOM - NIGHT

Dark. Tammy enters, plops in chair exhausted, reflects on the day's events, relaxes, turns lamp on. What a day!

OR

LIVING ROOM - NIGHT

Dark. Tammy enters, plops in chair. Thinks she hears a sound. Maybe not. She leans back. Can't relax. Reaches over, finally, turns on lamp. That sound again?

Basically the same shot but with a different tone. First one's a rom-com, second is Scream 7.