Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Came up about 19 pages short.

I am totally new at this style of writing, having completed only one screenplay (which took me a couple of years). I have three more in various stages of completion. I just finished writing another, which I only started five days ago. However, I am 19 pages short of my 110 page goal.

Now, I have not even done a thorough read, so I am certain I will find places that need beefing up to hit my milestone marks on the timeline.

The purpose of this post is simply to ask whether this is common or not and to ask guidance on moving forward. I do not use an outline and don't feel it would matter, but would like thoughts on that as well.
    www.silvercop.com
    If we don't get the information, and if we don't get the leads, we can't track down the killers.

Re: Came up about 19 pages short.

An average script should run between 90-120 pages. Yours is a bit short, but you do not have to have exactly 110 pages. You just finished your first draft? I'll wager once you get notes you'll add some pages.

I do the same thing. Often my first draft is around the 80 page mark, but once people start giving me suggestions I find places where I need more scenes and by the time I'm finished I'm usually around 115 pages. Don't stress page count this early in the process. You probably have a ton of work to do still and will end up changing much of what you've written after you get notes.
    Chicks Who Script podcast

Comment

Thanks Emily. I am not stuck on 110, I just hoped to be closer to that number. I think you are right about it not being hard to fill some more pages.

Should I put it aside for a bit and come back? That may be a bit hard to do, since I am very excited about this story.
      www.silvercop.com
      If we don't get the information, and if we don't get the leads, we can't track down the killers.

Comment