Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first screenplay...

Just thought I'd say hi, since I've been lurking the past few weeks. I am a relatively new writer. I am unrepped and don't have any "in." I've got a career doing something completely different, but I wouldn't mind a change if I find out I've got the talent to get paid to write.

I wrote my first screenplay a little over two years ago. After 5 months at the coffee shop with Pandora's classical music playing in my headphones, the script was completed. 1.5 years of doing nothing and revisions and I finally decided I was sick enough of it to try to get it out there.

Here's what I've done so far:

- Submitted to BlueCat and Script Pipeline in the last year and didn't place in either.

- Went to a small pitch festival earlier this summer, which was interesting. Submitted my script to one manager, gave a few one sheets to some others. I've probably sent out a little over 20 cold queries, and I've gotten a read request from one.

- Submitted to Blcklst a couple of weeks ago for a paid review this month. Received an overall score of 6 today. It was a little disappointing, but I know I would've gotten at least a 9 or 10 if there was a spelling category.
    The paid reader wrote a log line that did not match what happens in the plot, but there was some constructive criticism in the evaluation that I will look at in depth.

The reason I'm posting this is because I've been looking through the old threads here for the past few weeks and I've become encouraged and inspired by some of the success stories. I want to be one of those success stories.

So here we go.
    www.twitter.com/tedzarro

Re: My first screenplay...

Ted, you certainly dived right into the deep end of the pool.