Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you love to write?

On the most recent episode of Scriptnotes (#119), guest Aline Brosh McKenna said that she doesn't trust enthusiastic writers who claim they love to write. (I'm paraphrasing. I skimmed through the episode to try and find the exact quote but couldn't find it. I apologize if I'm misrepresenting in any way.) This shook me up a little bit. Because I love to write. Enthusiastically and unapologetically.

Sure, sometimes it just isn't coming. Sometimes the stuff that does come is rancid feces, or at least seems to be so at the time. Sometimes it takes three hours to plow through half a page. Sometimes I think I'm the worst writer in the world and how could I be so stupid as to think I could do this for a living. But despite these moments (which probably only make up less than half of my writing sessions) I still love to write.

I do my best work in the morning when my mind and body are nice and fresh. Since I still have a day job that starts pretty early in the morning, I get up at an hour that most people find ungodly so I can get a couple hours of writing time in. When people ask me how it is I'm able to drag myself out of bed at (gasp!) 4AM, my answer is always the same. I love to write. That alarm goes off and my eyes shoot open, excited that I get to sit down in front of the laptop and create story. Hitting the snooze button is the farthest thing from my mind. I'm exited to get up and write. Because I love it.