What is THE reason you continue to write?

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is THE reason you continue to write?

Are you still as motivated to write specs now as you were when you first started? I've been writing specs on and off for 8 years, but I feel like why should I continue to write unless I'm being paid a daily wage? Or that the finished script WILL be made into a movie? I don't even know what budget I should be writing for anymore. The great spec days of the 90s don't exist anymore and all blockbusters have 6 writers. Most of my specs would suit mid-budgets but those are being squeezed out of the multiplexes and dropped by Hollywood because of "marketing" costs.

I'm just looking for a new direction as a writer. So far all I see is that I would have to become a Producer as they call the shots...
    I post too much.

Re: What is THE reason you continue to write?

Because I enjoy writing and creating stories. As far as marketing them ... I guess at one point I thought that might be a possibility to sell one, but I've known for nine or ten years now that I probably wasn't going anywhere. Still like to write, though.
    STANDARD DISCLAIMER: I'm a wannabe, take whatever I write with a huge grain of salt.

Comment

Because I have stories to tell.
      "Arguing that you don't care about the right to privacy b/c you have nothing to hide is no different than saying you don't care about free speech because you have nothing to say." -- Edward Snowden

Comment

Originally posted by MPrince View Post