Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bibles

Does anyone have a lot of experience with show bibles? How detailed do you get? I've seen bibles that have every single beat of ever single episode spelled out (the Wire) and bibles that are just concepts, characters and themes (BSG). I'm an unknown writer with a strong pilot working out the series bible. How much should I include?

Re: Bibles

There is no hard and fast rule. It's up to you unless you've been asked specifically to provide one. A lot of times you go out with a spec pilot and no bible.

Comment

My agent prefers to have solid descriptions of the main and recurring characters, and the TV Guide blurb to the five eps following the pilot, to give readers an idea of the series, and show that it has legs. My bibles end up two or three pages long, over half of which are focused on the characters.

Comment

I agree with everyone else: depends.

What you need to do is communicate what the show is. That is as long or as short as you deem necessary. Don't give extraneous details. More doesn't mean better.

Comment

Thanks for all the great feedback. Our first draft of the bible was a series overview, character description, 1/2 page episode synopsis for the first season and then ideas for future seasons. We sent it off to the manager and she just kept asking for more information. Now our episodes descriptions are running 2-3 pages a piece, and she's still asking for more.

I would almost rather start writing the actual scripts at this point.

Comment

Originally posted by UnequalProductions View Post
            Thanks for all the great feedback. Our first draft of the bible was a series overview, character description, 1/2 page episode synopsis for the first season and then ideas for future seasons. We sent it off to the manager and she just kept asking for more information. Now our episodes descriptions are running 2-3 pages a piece, and she's still asking for more.