Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Abusive Agent?

Has anyone ever been repped by a verbally abusive agent? How did you deal with that? I want to fire mine, but everyone says to get a new agent before you fire your old one. And since I'm a young writer, it'll be hard for me to get a new agent.

I guess it depends on how long you want to be disrespected. Your agent gets away with it, because you condone it by not addressing it. Unless you have addressed it and he doesn't give a ****. If you haven't, why not? It's a matter of simply saying, "speak to me respectfully or not at all." What is the worst thing he's going to do? Not send your work out? He's an agent, if he wants to make money he should align with you. And if he says he doesn't want to work with you, was he really doing any work in the first place?

But it already sounds like you want to exit the relationship. This is your career and no one else's. If you don't want to be disrespected, don't be.

Has he sold anything for you? Has he gotten you a job? What has he done that makes you want to keep him. If he hasn't done anything for you, what makes you think that will change in the future?

Trying to find another agent will be difficult whether you have one already or not, because it's not like you're going to say, "I'm repped, but looking for a new agent, are you?" Do you have a network of people in the industry that you can a referral from? What about the people he's sent your work to?

The most important thing to remember is that you leaped the hurdle once already-- the chances of doing it again are good.
    "Learn the rules like a pro, so you can break them like an artist,- Pablo Picasso

Comment

Is the agent verbally insulting and attacking you personally? Or, just dropping F-bombs here and there? If it's the former, I'd tell them "Adios."