Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about finding the correct managers

I am looking the writers of the recent teen dramas and their representatives in IMDBPro to send my query letter tho the correct people. I come across that some of them are represented by talent agents. I am new at IMBDPro and I was expecting to see all writer's screenwriting managers.

Am I using the site correctly? Is there any alternaive ways to find out the correct managers? Should I send query letter to talent agents too? Any other advices?

Thanks.

Comment

If I don't know they accept unsolicided query letter, is it acceptable to send them query letter? Should I include only the logline?

Comment

Comment

Should I send query letters to managers of directors too?

Comment

I would just stick to managers / agents / producers.

For a TV pilot I don't think getting it to a TV director would lead to much -- but I'm sure it's happened. In Film a director can surely attach and take it up the ladder. But in TV, I feel most of them are hired very late in the game as they come in, shoot for a few days and move on to the next project. TV moves fast.

Comment

Meaningful directors don't just come in and out - they're attached as executive producers and often direct many of the episodes. They have development deals at studios / networks just like writers, and they need material. For example, Mark Mylod is an exec producer on Succession and has directed 10 episode, and he's got a deal (on HBO I think?).

Comment

I knew if I played dumb and talked out of my ass while avoiding my real life problems, Jeff would come out of the woodwork and give us the info we needed.

Still that seems like a huge longshot from unrepped writer, no?

Comment

What isn't?

When I was breaking in, I sent out literally thousands of letters. I can trace my entire career through one of those letters to a stranger.

Comment