Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Repping yourself!?

I've read that some screenwriters rep themselves. But what does that mean? What does that involve? Can anyone do it? Is it pleasurable? Is it sinful? And would you be ashamed if your mother caught you doing it?
    Know this: I'm a lazy amateur, so trust not a word what I write.
    "The ugly can be beautiful. The pretty, never." ~ Oscar Wilde

Re: Repping yourself!?

Repping yourself is just being your own manager/agent and sending stuff out to producers, directors, etc... on your own. Even after you get an agent or manager -- if you do indeed want to get one and are able to -- you'll still have to rep yourself to some extent. Essentially you'll ALWAYS be repping yourself. Repping yourself is not bad at all. Even though I've had a manager for years, almost all of the opportunities that have "come my way" (although more like me going out after them) -- be it a producer or director attachment or option or writing assignment -- have come about from me repping myself. In the end, nobody can rep yourself better than you can.

Comment

I do it to some degree, now.