Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bizarre request from attorney

I received this email out of the blue by someone I never met.

"It's a pleasure to meet you. I'm a transactional entertainment lawyer based in LA and am interested in talking about your transition from editor to director. Do you have time in your schedule next week for lunch?"

Huh?

I never answered this, then 2 weeks later he sent me this:

"Checking back in to see if you are available to meet for coffee or lunch. Please let me know if you have time in your schedule."

What kind of scam could this possibly be?

I checked his name and it correspond with the address in the signature, an attorney's office in BH, and he has a website with pix too.

Do you guys have any ideas?
    Last edited by vstm10; 02-14-2018, 11:09 AM. Reason: typo

Re: Bizarre request from attorney.

Originally posted by vstm10 View Post

"It's a pleasure to meet you. I'm a transactional entertainment lawyer based in LA and am interested in talking about your transition from editor to director. Do you have time in your schedule next week for lunch?"

Huh?

"Checking back in to see if you are available to meet for coffee or lunch. Please let me know if you have time in your schedule."

I checked his name and it correspond with the address in the signature, an attorney's office in BH, and he has a website with pix too.

unless he/she is hitting you up for money beforehand, doesn't feel scammy to me. more like a solo or boutique lawyer just trying to drum up business.

are you transitioning from editor to director?

Comment

The way the law schools punch out new attorneys these days, I'm not surprised they're employing entrepreneurial approaches to finding clients, so as to pay their bills. Hey, it's free enterprise!

Just salt this away and you might find it of value when you're actually looking for a lawyer some day.