Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with negotiations / option

I would like some advice from people with relevant experience in the subject please!

Currently I am negotiating with an established film/TV producer in LA about him optioning the rights to my feature film in order for him to make a TV series remake. We spoke few times and he looks like a nice guy, but since I have zero experience with negotiations I would like some input. I guess what I am looking for is the "standard" procedures /fees that are used in this kind of situations.

1. What is a "normal"/decent optioning fee to acquire the rights of the story AND the film itself? Should I accept a fixed amount or a percent of the project's budget? I think that initially he wanted just the rights, but I believe now insists of getting the film as well. It is a low budget documentary that did well nationally (in Europe) but poorly (aka no distribution) internationally. I did the mistake of mentioning the budget which was very very low, and now he just offers me this number. He actually wants to pay out not the whole option amount but a percent of it, before the sale is fixed. Which I guess is normal

Perhaps I should ask for a fixed amount for the film and a percentage for the rights to the story (intellectual property) buyout?

2. All of his credits on imdb are "producer", but he insists on co-directing this project. I think that initially he wanted to be the sole director, but as I am more knowledgeable with the subject and because he thinks he can sell the idea easier with me as a director, he wants me to be a co-director. I am not very comfortable with the idea, as I directed the feature film and would like to be the sole director of the TV series, but I am afraid to brake the deal if I refuse. Any suggestions? Why would he insist on directing?