Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In a bind on a writing credit, pls advise

Wrote a script that has a director and financing attached. In a pending announcement, producers are pushing for me to share writing credit with another producer (who’s also a WGA writer) to help with attracting talent and key dept heads. Our contract stipulates that I’m to receive “written by” credit and the producer a “produced by” credit.

What the heck should I do?

On one hand, I’m just starting out and this helps me either way. I’m also the easiest to throw overboard should push come to shove (heck, my replacement’s already on the project). On the other hand, I absolutely wrote it. I can stick to my guns and say a deal’s a deal. I mean, the money’s already there (at least a chunk of it, anyway).

Help! Would love some advice.

Thanks!

-Irwin P.
    Last edited by irwinpfletcher; 08-01-2021, 04:33 PM.

Is it just for the announcement or are they asking you to put the other name on the script? If it’s just the announcement it doesn’t affect your ultimate credit.

is this a WGA project? There are a lot of different ways it plays out depending.

Comment

JeffLowell It’s just an announcement, far as I know. But not sure the logic changes when the script goes out to actors, ya know? And it’s a non-WGA project.Thanks for the response!

Comment

Don't let them get away with that nonsense.

I’m also the easiest to throw overboard should push come to shove (heck, my replacement’s already on the project).
        Not doing yourself any favors thinking this way. You're the writer. Do you believe in what you wrote? Stand up for it and you'll command a lot more respect.

Comment

Jimmy Thanks, man. I believe in it but I certainly don’t own it. It was written on spec. If I had more of a track record, the threat of me walking would amount to something. As it is now, not sure it does.

Comment