Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sending out the Script...Help!!!

Hello! This is my FIRST post! Woo-Hoo!!!
    Okay, down to business.
    My screenplay has been requested by a major production company. It is complete.
    Should I print a cover of a picture, with the title and my name on it? Or should I just send a regular cover page with title, name and contact info? (Sorry, this is my first time! LOL!)
    Also, is there anything else I need to send besides the screenplay?
    What should the total package consist of?
    Thanks in advance for any help, it's greatly appreciated.

Enchanted

Hello Enchanted One.

Just send a regular cover page with the title, your name, and contact info. Also include a brief cover letter saying that you sending the script per their request.

Do not put a picture on the cover of your script. That is not standard, and might make some people think you're a complete amateur.

Good luck to you!

Comment

Thanks, B! That's what I thought, but I had a bad "run in" with a company who insisted a picture cover be applied. Like I said, I'm very new to this. I wrote a novel in the horror genre. This "person" suggested I adapt it to a screenplay. I did, completly by myself, then this "person" acted as though he was trying to help, and showed it to his agent. The agent sent out a treatment of my screenplay, but added his friend's (person's) name as co-writer. I was told about the interest from really great buyers, along with the fact that a co-writer had been added. Since I didn't sign anything, and the novel was registered with Library of Congress, and the script is registered with WGA West, in my name only, I decided to blow off these con-artists. I do have the contact information from the interested party ( actually, there are about 5). Is it all right to go ahead and send them a copy of the screenplay?
      I called them, and they are still interested, but I feel trapped. I do want to sell it.