Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are the best "How toos, for scripts"

Thinking of buying a book next week, so what would be the best one for my money.

a dictionary

Comment

Story -- Robert McKee

Comment

I'll Second <!--EZCODE BOLD START--> Story<!--EZCODE BOLD END--> by Robert McKee.

I recently attended his Weekend Seminar and it was fabulous.

Comment

<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote>Quote:<hr> a dictionary<hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END-->

:lol

Comment

I think McKee gives the deepest explanation of structure, but I don't think I was ready to understand what he was talking about when I was just starting. (I could be wrong, because I didn't even try to read it as a beginner.) When I was a beginner, though, Michael Hauge's book gave me a good, clear introduction to structure and the art of creating emotion in the audience. It might be smart to try to read a bit of McKee in the bookstore before you plunk your money down.

Comment

Some good beginner books are the Screen Writing Bible by David Trottier (all inclusive guide to writing--from basic story structure to character development to format and getting your script out there)

Dr. Linda Seger's book called 'Making a Good Writer Great' has alot of useful ideas on creative thinking and pushing your imagination.

If you also go to www.scriptsecrets.net (Bill Martell's sites),
              there's a series of books called 'blue books' and they're mini-guides that you can buy on-line that cover everything from writing description to coming up with cool concepts.
              Its a sweet site..check it out.

Cheers,
              Marta

Comment

Not Syd Field.
                Not Syd Field.
                Not Syd Field.
                Not Syd Field.
                Not Syd Field.
                Not Syd Field.
                Not Syd Field.

Good rule of thumb: only read books on screenwriting from actual real live working screenwriters.