Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who went to USC or UCLA?

Who went to USC or UCLA for screenwriting? What books did you read for their classes that you found helpful? I'm someone who went to a subpar film school and feel like I didn't learn the screenwriting basics right the first time around. I'm currently reading "Story" by Mckee. I've also read "Save the Cat", and "The Anatomy of Story" by Truby.

And if you didn't go to either of those schools but know of other helpful screenwriting books, please feel free to sound off!
    Last edited by Done Deal Pro; 10-09-2020, 04:28 PM. Reason: Added tags

Re: Who went to USC or UCLA?

I graduated from USC film school long ago; well before the vast majority of the books on screenwriting ever even existed. I believe my roommate had Syd Field's first book.

What you are reading already is fine. Some will be for those books, some will be against them. Don't worry about it.

Quite honestly, everything I really learned at film school came from the teachers & their professional experiences vs. any books. I realize this isn't what you are asking but I'd say pick a few other key/"well-acknowledged" books out there on the subject and take what you can from those as well. But I'd spend as much time, if not much more, simply reading lots of scripts.

I'll also add, there are so many articles out there online about screenwriting, I don't even know if anyone really needs to buy a book any more. (Though, I still love books.)
    Will
    Done Deal Pro
    www.donedealpro.com

Comment

Originally posted by MrGoodBars View Post
      Who went to USC or UCLA for screenwriting? What books did you read for their classes that you found helpful? I'm someone who went to a subpar film school and feel like I didn't learn the screenwriting basics right the first time around. I'm currently reading "Story" by Mckee. I've also read "Save the Cat," and "The Anatomy of Story" by Truby.