Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Packaging: I'm Not a Lawyer, I'm An Agent

came across this article and never had a clue that this is what goes on behind the scenes at some agencies.

a really good article that just keeps getting better as the veil is lifted...

https://davidsimon.com/but-im-not-a-lawyer-im-an-agent/
    "Learn the rules like a pro, so you can break them like an artist,- Pablo Picasso

Re: Packaging: I'm Not a Lawyer, I'm An Agent

Ah, thanks for the long article, which inspired me to write the following long post, so as to ensure I sleep soundly tonight:

For years now, I've realized I was never going to succeed in this business by going the "usual route". My age, location, type of material I write, entrepreneurial spirit, and general irascibility make it so.

Not swayed from the goal of seeing my movies on the big or little screen, however, my figuring has evolved to focusing on achieving one or at most two "traditional" deals, before turning my pursuits 100 percent to producing.

Producing my own stuff, of course. After all, already owning the I.P. gives me a leg up on most producers out there.

Then, all I have to do is partner-up with one or more eager, looking-for-work producers who will employ their knowledge to help get my modest little movies made.

All they have to do is what they usually do, without having to search high and low for I.P. For this, all they really give up is a share of the producing revenue pie, and (most, or all, of) the creative control. It will probably also mean I as the original writer will agree to have better writers than I bring said spec to the shooting script level. I have no problem with that.

"Never!", you say? "What self-respecting producer would ever agree to this?!"

Well, I'm not talking Bruckheimer or Lucas, here.