X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CSM/Great Loglines Contest Winners

http://greatloglines.com/winners.winter.2011.html

Anyone enter?

I was surprised at the majority that were chosen... Of course, who knows what might work given the right talent, but do most of these honestly sound good to anyone?

Re: CSM/Great Loglines Contest Winners

No, I didn't enter. My first impression after reading these loglines was that most of them aren't super-great or fresh, original ideas. A couple of them aren't even well written. Some of them did sound fun and interesting -- I'd give a few of them 10 pages of my attention if I were looking for a script. But I'm no expert at loglines, lol. I just know what I like.

I think it'd be fun and educational for some of the more credited writers (and managers out there) on the message boards to dissect the top five winners in both groups and tell us where they think the loglines went right (or wrong) -- and why. I know I'd stand to benefit and maybe even come out of this a better logline magician. Anyone game??

Comment

wow.

Comment

honestly it looks like you could just throw them all up in air and choose a winner randomly. i prefer both 2nd place winners to the 1st place winners. and there's very little difference bet the two classes: master and new. "the magic gang" is more interesting than a hunter in india.

now that i think about it, this is a silly contest. what was the real purpose? it's concept that sells. i mean, who's buying scripts set in 1940's india? it's a small market.

Comment

Hi all! I'm new to the forum and am looking forward to learning and contributing.

I entered the last round of this contest but it took an e-mail to the contest chairman to get the results. I got an excel spreadsheet that didn't explain to me the odd scoring numbers. And a comment from one of the judges was that they'd read the script based on the logline. I don't see that comment made any difference in the judging.