Anyone with experience as a flight attendant?

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone with experience as a flight attendant?

Situation: You're a flight attendant, and you're taking a planned weeklong vacation at one of your stops away from home.

Question: How long would it take you from the moment the last passenger walked off the plane to the time you yourself would get to leave the airport to start your vacation? How much cleanup and prep, on average, is needed before you can "clock out"?

Thanks.

Re: Anyone with experience as a flight attendant?

I have no experience as a flight attendant, but have a friend who is, and just from my own experience flying a lot : not much time. I would say 1/2 hour to an hour.
    Oftentimes, if the line at passport control is slow, you'll see the crew from your flight walking past, or they might pick up their bags as the same time as the passengers at baggage claim. Sometimes, they'll be out of the airport before me.
    Hope that helps.

Comment

Yeah, when I travel across the Atlantic (NJ to London) the flight crew blow past me at immigration and are in taxis before I collect my bags.

EJ

Comment

Thanks, guys. For my plot purposes, I was hoping there naturally would be a little more delay.

Maybe this is one of those times when I can apply for my state-issued Artistic License.

Comment

Yeah, the flight crew doesn't clean the plane, the cleaning crew does.

I don't know the exact need for this time delay, or the genre of your script, but it would only take a little brainstorming to come up with a reason for it.

Can you just do a time cut? Does it even have to be explained or addressed?