Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can anyone recommend a female reader? Looking for feedback on a new Pilot

Hi, wrote a new pilot and trying to get more feedback... Can anyone recommend a good female reader? If she happens to be Latina even better since the Pilot revolves around a Latina woman.
    Thanks.

Originally posted by gs1979 View Post
    Hi, wrote a new pilot and trying to get more feedback... Can anyone recommend a good female reader? If she happens to be Latina even better since the Pilot revolves around a Latina woman.
    Thanks.
    Nobody has answered this, so — somewhat against my better judgment — I will jump in and say something after I declare up front that I am not a professional screenwriter and am not trying to be. However, I have been a writer and teacher for almost my whole life, regardless of what I was doing to make a living at the time. I really wish that someone with "credentials" would offer some commentary on your request.

Here is the situation as I see it.

First, I know maybe three readers whom I would personally recommend, and they are all male.

And now I get into the commentary.

It is fine to want someone with a natural affinity to your main character to read your pilot. Maybe that person can say, "Hey, you really captured the cultural dynamics of that character as a latina."

But you should have the confidence in yourself that you can create such a character without submitting your work to someone for evaluation under the focus of an "identitarian" lens.

And, going beyond all that, what do you think is going to happen to your pilot when it (maybe) reaches a level where decision makers are considering it for production? I really do not think that anyone who invests money and prestige into a project is going to concede the final decision to a latina.