Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to narrow down searches???

Okay, so I have a master's in Communications and know the only word always spelled incorrectly is "incorrectly." What I can't figure out to save my soul is how to narrow down searches on these nonpareil forum boards.

Say, for example, I want to look up Sweeney Entertainment. If I type in that two-word term and even enclose it in quotes, I get back every person, place or thing named "Sweeney" and the same for "√čntertainment." Seems as if 30 pages+ appear no matter what I'm searching. G-r-r-r!!! The only time I have any success is when I type in a wholly-off-the-wall-one-word-term like Ejiofor.

Like most guys, I don't like to ask questions that I should seem to know the answers to; however, I swear, I could spend a millennium (a word none of your friends can spell correctly, I guarantee you--because of the two n's) and not figure out what I'm guessing most others find a most user-friendly search engine.

Re: How to narrow down searches???

A few observations about this.

When you can, use Google search instead of the forum's search function.

But, as you may know, a Google search won't help you find things within certain sections of this forum. Because, for good reasons, the Super Mod configured certain sections to disable Google searching/indexing. And in those cases, you do need to use the forum's search function.

In those cases, as you noted, every search is an "or" search, even if you put two or more words in quotes.

When I use the forum's search, I usually use Advanced Search.

And sometimes I limit the search to one forum section.

I also sometimes limit the search to "Titles Only" (versus "Entire Posts").

Plus, I find it makes it easier to find specific/relevant posts if I select "Show results as posts" (versus "as threads").